BLAST Pro Series Global Final to be held in Bahrain
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

BLAST Pro Series is an international live Counter-Strike: Global Offensive esports tournament. RFRSH Entertainment has announced the tournament series will finish off the 2019 season with a Global Finals event. This $500,000 prize pool event will be held in the Kingdom of Bahrain on Dec 13 – 14.

Global Final in Bahrain

“Bahrain is the perfect place to hold the 2019 Global Final. There is already a strong and engaged base of fans, an emerging scene of talented young players, and a country famed for its welcoming hospitality,” said Robbie Douek, the Chief Executive Officer of the BLAST Pro Series. “We will be bringing four of the world’s best teams to battle it out for the chance to be crowned Champion.”

This marks the first time a large esports event will be held in a sovereign nation. The Bahrain Ministry of Youth and Sports Affairs will be responsible for the tournament organization. However, some of the community shared concerns about contradictions in the reason for hosting an event in Bahrain. Douek describes Bahrain as an “emerging scene of talented young players,” but HLTV only shows one professional player ever coming from the nation.

BLAST Pro Series

The top four teams from the BLAST Pro Series regular season will be invited to compete for the $500,000 prize pool. At the moment, Team Liquid has 26 points, Astralis has 22 points, FaZe Clan has 20 points, and Ninjas In Pyjamas are fourth with 10 points. However, FaZe Clan has double the points of fourth-place team NiP. This means MiBR – with 8 points – along with Natus Vincere and Cloud9 – with 6 each – also have a chance to get an invitation.

There are also two more events, with BLAST Pro Series Moscow starting today on Sept 13 and Copenhagen on Nov 1. If a bottom team is able to win at these upcoming events, they could propel themselves into the Global Finals event. The Global Finals event will consist of a best-of-three single-elimination format.

The BLAST Pro Series consists of seven events in total. Previous events have been held in Los Angeles, Madrid, Miami, São Paulo, Lisbon, Copenhagen, and Istanbul. This is the first year RFRSH Entertainment has hosted so many, with only three in 2018 and one in 2017. Danish esports organization Astralias has won three during the event’s lifetime. FaZe Clan, ENCE, Team Liquid, Natus Vincere, and SK Gaming have also won one each.

Ethan Chen is a writer with over 3 years of experience covering esports, gaming, and business.