Call of Duty League points structure: Explained - Upcomer
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

With the newly franchised Call of Duty League (CDL) commencing its launch weekend on Jan. 24 – 26, a new points-based system has been introduced. It will come into effect at the beginning of the season and last throughout the League, as a result preserving the tournament model. A total of 10 CDL points will be awarded for each win, as well as 10 points being awarded for the overall team that wins at the end of the weekend. This replaces the home and away model that was initially introduced.

As stated on the Call of Duty League’s official website, CDL points will be issued as follows:

  • 1st Place: 50 CDL points
  • 2nd Place: 30 CDL points
  • 3rd/4th Place: 20 CDL points
  • 5th/6th Place: 10 CDL points
  • 7th/8th Place: 0 CDL points

Mike “Hastr0” Rufail, former Call of Duty professional and CEO of Team Envy and the Dallas Empire, has given an overview of how the new format will operate in a recent interview.

Before franchising, team standings were shown on a leaderboard. Also, points were accumulated in the Pro League and teams would have to compete for a place in the final event of the year, the Call of Duty World Championships, regardless of their standings on the leaderboard. Arguably, the new points-based system increases the competition within the League because teams will have to perform consistently at each home event. This is to secure their place in the world championships, as CDL points earned throughout the season will decide which eight teams qualify for the playoffs.

The intensity of competition is highlighted through the criteria that will be acknowledged and put in place in the event of a tiebreaker:

  • Head-to-head match win percentage
  • Teams’ head-to-head game win percentage
  • Overall win percentage

The Call of Duty League will launch on Jan. 24 – 26 in Minneapolis, hosted by Minnesota ROKKR. Keep up with Daily Esports for all CDL news.