How League Play works in Black Ops Cold War - Upcomer
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

League Play has finally come to Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War.  It’ll give players the ability to climb through the ranks of a competitive ladder, which is a welcome break from public lobbies.

League Play is the competitive mode that’s been seen in every Treyarch title since Black Ops 2. It launched on February 8 in Black Ops Cold War, giving more competitive-minded players a space to go head-to-head with others. It can be a a little confusing at first glance—especially for new Call of Duty fans. Here’s every detail you need to know about Black Ops Cold War’s League Play.

League Play arrives in Black Ops Cold War

When you first boot up League Play, you’ll be greeted with information on how the system works. Fans of Black Ops 4’s League Play will instantly recognize the gist of Black Ops Cold War’s version, although Black Ops Cold War’s system will give players more ranks to climb through.

Ruleset for League Play

League Play uses a competitive ruleset and map/mode rotation. For the mode, you can create your own classes and use custom weapon blueprints and camos. However, if your blueprint features a restricted item, it will be removed. Your custom classes from multiplayer will not transfer over, so you’ll to make new ones.

If you’re not sure of what to use, you can equip the pre-made classes designed for the Call of Duty League. You can read all about the competitive ruleset on the CDL website.  Restricted items currently include things like the stimshot, shotguns, and all rocket launchers. Some items that are restricted in the CDL ruleset, like scorestreaks, are usable in League Play.

League Play matches took place during events in Black Ops 4. Treyarch has said they’ll announce more info on event timing in the near future.

Divisions and Ranks

Once you complete your first League play match you’ll be placed in a specific Skill Division. Your Division Ladder will house 50 other players of similar skill that you can compete with for the top spot. There are five divisions in Black Ops Cold War League Play, including competitor, advanced, expert, elite and master. The player populations for each of the Divisions are as follows:

  • Master: Top 2% of players
  • Elite: Top 3-10% of players
  • Expert: Top 11-15% of players
  • Advanced: Top 16-20% of players
  • Competitor: 50% of players
Black Ops Cold War League Play Ranks
The different Gems for League Play. Image via Treyarch

You’ll need to win games and earn points in order to move up in your Division Ladder.  You can earn additional points by playing every day or winning consecutive games. Losing games decreases your spot on the Ladder.

At the end of every event, you’ll move up or down a division depending on your place on the Ladder.  If you’re higher on the ladder, you’ll earn Gems, which are used to advance your rank. At each rank milestone (every 5 ranks), you’ll unlock different Calling Cards. In addition to the Calling Cards, if you place high enough consistently, you’ll upgrade your rank. Bronze is the lowest rank, while Diamond is the highest.

black ops cold war league play ranks
The progressive Ranks in League Play. Image via Treyarch

Black Ops Cold War’s League Play is here just in time for the start of the Call of Duty League’s 2021 season on February 11 with the Atlanta FaZe Home Series. Stay tuned to Daily Esports for more on the CDL and League Play in Black Ops Cold War.

Joey Carr is a full-time writer for multiple esports and gaming websites. He has 6+ years of experience covering esports and traditional sporting events, including DreamHack Atlanta, Call of Duty Championships 2017, and Super Bowl 53.