Lucky wins Smash Melee Singles at Rollback Rumble: Summit X Qualifier
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Joey “Lucky” Aldama won Super Smash Bros. Melee Singles at Rollback Rumble: Summit X Qualifier on November 14. As a result, he will compete at Smash Summit 10 Online from November 19 – 22. In addition, Miles “Soonsay” Foster and Sasha “Magi” Sullivan qualified for Summit at this event.

Lucky had an unsurprisingly smooth road through West Coast pools. He reached winners side of top 16 after earning 3-1 victories over Duncan “SDJ” Meara and Ben “SFOP” Duren. Then in Winners Quarters, Lucky secured another 3-1 win against Eduardo “Eddy Mexico” Lucatero Rincón.

Lucky kicked off top 8 by defeating Isaac “bobby big ballz” P. 3-1 in Winners Semis. In Winners Finals, he beat Magi 3-0 in his only set that didn’t go to game four. Finally, Lucky overcame Soonsay 3-1 in Grand Finals, claiming 1st place at Rollback Rumble: Summit X Qualifier.

Other results from Rollback Rumble: Summit X Qualifier

Soonsay started his Rollback Rumble: Summit X Qualifier run dominantly, sweeping through pools without dropping a game. In the process, he defeated players like Elliot Moffat-Shojania and Anthony “Zealot” J. However, he dropped a set to Magi immediately upon reaching top 16.

Despite this setback, Soonsay made a commanding run through the losers bracket. He eliminated Colin “Colbol” Green, SFOP, bobby big ballz, and Dawud “Aklo” Rahman to reach Losers Finals. There, Soonsay narrowly won his runback against Magi before losing to Lucky in Grand Finals.

Magi made a solid run through the winners bracket en route to 3rd place at Rollback Rumble: Summit X Qualifier. She advanced into top 16 by beating Malachi “MoG” Markos and Brandon “Panda” Orooji. Then in top 16, Magi won sets over Soonsay and Aklo.

The Smash Summit 10 Online roster is now set, with the following 20 players competing:

  • Zain Naghmi
  • Joseph “Mang0” Marquez
  • Cody “iBDW” Schwab
  • Edgard “n0ne” Sheleby
  • Griffin “Captain Faceroll” Williams
  • Johnny “S2J” Kim
  • Justin “Plup” McGrath
  • Zaid “Spark” Ali
  • Justin “Wizzrobe” Hallett
  • Avery “Ginger” Wilson
  • Kevin “PewPewU” Toy
  • Jeffrey “Axe” Williamson
  • Steven “FatGoku” Callopy
  • Zachary “SFAT” Cordoni
  • Jason “Gahtzu” Diehl
  • DaJuan “Shroomed” McDaniel
  • Juan “Hungrybox” DeBiedma
  • Lucky
  • Soonsay
  • Magi

Dylan Tate is an alumnus of the Hussman School of Journalism and Media at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is a gaming journalist with a love for Nintendo esports, particularly Super Smash Bros. and Pokémon.