RLCS Season 7 World Championships – What you need to know
Close Menu

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

This weekend, June 21-23, the RLCS Season 7 World Championship is taking place in Newark, New Jersey. Twelve teams will battle for the trophy and a $529,500 prize pool. The prize money split is yet unknown, but that doesn’t matter for the players. It’s all about proving to be the best. With this guide we’re laying out everything you need to know to be ready for the biggest tournament Rocket League has to offer.

The RLCS teams

North America

It should come to no one’s surprise that NRG, Cloud9, and G2 Esports are present. The fourth North American team is none other than Rogue, who picked up Cameron “Kronovi” Bills this season after he was replaced on G2. While many had predicted them in the bottom two to fight against relegation, they left behind teams such as Evil Geniuses, Ghost Gaming, and SpaceStation Gaming, and they will now fight for the World Championship title alongside the best teams in the world. The other three are mainstays in the RLCS, of course, with Cloud9 defending their title.


Predicting Europe was impossible this season. Dignitas reigned for a long time but quickly lost momentum when Alex “Kaydop” Courant left to join Renault Vitality at the start of the season. RV immediately dominated, losing only to the newly promoted Triple Trouble. Joined by FC Barcelona (also newly promoted) and PSG, they complete the four teams to represent Europe. That means we won’t be seeing The Bricks (formerly Flipsid3 Tactics), TSM, and Dignitas — three teams who have all won a major LAN in the last six months — on the RLCS world stage this weekend. Europe is competitive, to say the least.


Despite losing Matthew “Drippay” Den-Kaat to NA’s Evil Geniuses, Renegades (formerly Chiefs) qualified with their new third, Aidan “ZeN” Hui. RLCS regulars Icon Esports (formerly Tainted Minds) fell short in the Oceanic qualifiers and will now have to watch from the sidelines as Ground Zero Gaming make their debut at the World Championship.

South America

South America is making its debut as a region, though every single player hails from Brazil. Having qualified through their own league, the Grand Series, the South Americans will fight for a spot among the top for the first time. Although SA had once been featured in WSOE, they had been quickly thrown together when several players had visa issues. Additionally, none of those players managed to qualify for the RLCS World Championship. South America will be represented by Lowkey Esports (1st seed) and INTZ Esports (2nd seed).

The new format

With two extra teams, the bracket was in need of an overhaul. Where RLCS has employed a double elimination bracket for the past six seasons, season seven will for the first time use a two-day round-robin group stage to a one-day single elimination bracket. Psyonix has already confirmed that this is their plan moving into future seasons as well. Especially considering the growth of the esport, we can probably expect expansions for existing and new continents at some point too. The group stage will consist of four groups of three teams. The top two of each team advances to the playoffs on day three.

RLCS Season 7 World Championships – What you need to know
Image courtesy of Liquipedia.

When and where?

The World Championship begins this Friday, Jun. 21 at 8:30 a.m. PST / 11:30 a.m EDT / 17:30 CEST. The streams will be hosted on the official Twitch and YouTube channels. Other places to be are the official Twitter page, the Rocket League Esports subreddit, and this handy Twitter list of Rocket League players and personalities to keep up with all the live reactions.

Who do you have as the next RLCS World Champion? Got a team to support yet? Let us know in the comments below!

Michael Kloos is a Dutch esports journalist and enthusiast with a particular like of Rocket League and VALORANT. He is also an avid fantasy/sci-fi reader and writer. He spends most of his time trying not to be in the real world.